Yay, it’s Monday!

There’s a perfectly good reason (more like twenty good reasons) why I don’t blog as often as I should. I’m a full time student (In my last semester! Yes!), a wife and mother, a freelance graphic designer (Yes, I still have a day job.), and a novelist. The novelist in me usually has to take a backseat to the wife/mother/student/designer me, but she’s still there. Hopefully this helps explain why the second novel in my Lana Harvey, Reapers Inc. series took nearly three years to complete. Congratulations, you say. Your work is finished….  Not exactly.

Since I’m not a best-seller (Give me time.) I have to do a lot of my own promoting and marketing. Let me share with you a little of what I’ve been up to lately…

1)      Contacting bookstores and other venues to set up signing and reading events.

2)      Contacting radio stations, newspapers, and magazines to research advertising options and to send press releases.

3)      Designing announcement postcards, bookmarks, posters, business cards, and other promotional material to distribute to signing venues and my mailing list.

4)      Contacting reviewers and fellow authors to review and write blurbs for my new novel.

5)      Setting up contests and sending out free copies to the winners.

6)      Researching conventions and events where I can set up a signing booth and/or meet with other writers, agents, and publishers.

7)      Working on formatting ebook versions of both of my novels.

8)      Attempting to maintain my web presence on my personal site and facebook.

Now ask me how I manage to get all my homework done, design real estate guides and auction banners, clean my house, feed and bathe my son, enjoy time with my husband and family, and find a few minutes to sleep. That’s right. I have a magic wand. Okay, so I only wish I had a magic wand.

To be honest, I really don’t know how I’ve juggled all this for so long. What I do know is that I’ll be thrilled when I have my degree in December, and even more thrilled when I can call writing my day job. Don’t get me wrong, I love graphic design. I just love writing more.

Now that things are getting more eventful with book 2, I plan on updating this blog more often. I mean, how can I expect you guys to keep coming back if there’s never anything new up? And I really doubt you want to hear about how much I hate math or Xav’s last diaper surprise. So, my promise to you is that I will post something new every Monday, because let’s face it: Monday’s suck. Maybe I can make yours a little brighter, or at least more interesting.

Until next time…..

Leave a Reply

